How to use task locks

Learn how to use task locks between users

Last published at: September 28th, 2023

A task step can be assigned to more than one user and configured to stay locked for other users during use. Let's understand the configuration and flow through an example here. 

Create a new process definition and drag the task and process steps to the designer canvas. 

Select the first process step and click on the “Settings” tab. Provide the name and the process instance information. 

Select the task step and click on the “Settings” tab. Provide the name and the description information. 

Select the task step and click on the “Advanced” tab. Click on the button to select users to route to. Provide task detail description. Provide text info on item task that is routed. Provide URL (if necessary). 

Click on the button to select users to route to. Click SAVE to confirm the action. 

Select the task step and click on the “Advanced” tab. Select the task priority (low, medium, high, normal, urgent). Provide the task completion duration. Select weekends ON if the task duration includes a weekend. 

Select the task routing rules from the drop down list (default, task lock, least # of tasks in total, least # of tasks in duration). “Default” means the task has not lock status during run time. “Task lock” means the task is locked by one of the users during runtime. Task is assigned to one of the users having least # of tasks by count during runtime. Task is assigned to one of the users having least # of tasks by time duration during run time.

Click on the button to configure the task reminders. Select “No” for wait for all to respond. Provide a variable/global to store the routed user list during run time. Select “Yes” to send email notification. Select “Yes” to send separate emails. Provide the email address mail box information (if blank FlowWright uses the mail box configured by default). Provide email subject. Click on the button to configure the email body. Click on the button to configure email file attachments. 

Provide the email CC list. Select “Yes” to send expired email notification. Select “No” to send acknowledgement link. Provide value to change the default label text for approval and reject buttons. Select “No” to hide the reject button. Select “No” to reassign task by the user during run time. 

Save the definition. Create a new process instance and execute. 

The task is assigned to the users as seen in the task page by ADMIN user. 

The task assigned as seen in the task page by Alpha-TestUser-2 user.

The task assigned as seen in the task page by RegularUser.

The first user to open the task notices an alert to lock the task for self (as shown in the following UI).

On confirmation, the task is locked to the first user till task completion or the user can unlock the task (and make it available for other users assigned with this task).  

The locked task is not visible to the second user as shown in the following UI (as per the task filter). 

The locked task is seen completed to the second user as shown in the following UI (as per the task filter). 

The task is unlocked by the first user as shown in the following UI.   

The unlocked task is now available to the second user as shown in the following UI (as per the task filter). This way the users can lock the tasks till completion. 

The other task lock mechanism works similar to “Task lock” illustrated above. 

Task lock “Default” means the task has not lock status during run time. “Task lock” means the task is locked by one of the users during runtime. Task is assigned to one of the users having least # of tasks by count during runtime. Task is assigned to one of the users having least # of tasks by time duration during run time.